Orchestral Soloists - Concert Hall, QPAC - Tickets

Orchestral Soloists
Venue Concert Hall, QPAC
› View Seating plan
Dates 3 Aug 2018

Conductor Alondra de la Parra
Piano Sergio Tiempo (2018 Artist-in-Residence)

Rachmaninov Concerto No.3 in D minor for Piano and Orchestra, op.30*
Bartók Concerto for Orchestra*

Composed in 1909, Rachmaninov’s third piano concerto then electrifies with its complex piano work and romantic melodies. Martha Argerich taught Sergio Tiempo to rehearse multiple interpretations of this piece, and this inbuilt flexibility ignites his performance with a heart-in-the-mouth spontaneity that can’t be matched! Bartók’s Concerto for Orchestra, meanwhile, is exactly that – a chance for the whole orchestra to shine. He said that the piece has a ‘tendency to treat the single orchestral instruments in a soloistic manner’, giving orchestral sections, duos and individuals the chance to really stand out. Unmissable.

The Queensland Symphony Orchestra Music Director is proudly supported by Tim Fairfax AC. The Artist-in-Residence program is supported by the Trevor & Judith St Baker Family Foundation and The University of Queensland. The Morning Masterworks is proudly supported by 4MBS Classic FM.

*Works also performed on Saturday, 4 August 2018, 7:30pm

Ticket Prices
Hide Details

$74 - $87*
*a transaction fee of $7.20 applies per transaction. Selected ticket delivery methods may incur an additional charge.

Price Details
Show Details
Group Discounts
Show Details
School Discounts
Show Details
Show Details