Maestro Series 6: The Great Symphony

Venue Concert Hall, QPAC
› View Seating plan

Dates 20 Jul 2019

Maestro Series 6: The Great Symphony - Concert Hall, QPAC - Tickets

Simone Young Returns

Conductor Simone Young 
Soloist Nils Mӧnkemeyer, viola

Brett Dean Notturno inquieto (Australian premiere)
Bartók Viola Concerto
Schubert Symphony No.9 in C (Great C Major)

Franz Schubert’s ninth symphony is like a fantastic machine from the steam age. Like hundreds of tiny cogs and wheels, small snatches of melody are passed back and forth between the instruments of the orchestra. Moment by moment, the music builds into an epic and joyous wall of sound. Also in this concert, enjoy the chance to hear the viola as a solo instrument. Bartók uses the instrument’s mellow tone to great effect in this intense viola concerto, which explores the composer’s grief about the Second World War and despair about his devastated country. Finally, we include an Australian farewell on a smaller scale. Composer Brett Dean was formerly a violist with the Berlin Philharmonic and he wrote Notturno Inquieto when that orchestra bid farewell to its dynamic chief conductor, Simon Rattle.


Available Dates Hide Details
Jul 2019
Available show dates
Ticket Prices Hide Details

$79 - $119*
*a transaction fee of $7.20 applies per transaction. Selected ticket delivery methods may incur an additional charge.

Price Details Show Details
Group Discounts Show Details
School Discounts Show Details
Duration Show Details