Morning Masterworks 1: Romeo And Juliet - Concert Hall, QPAC - Tickets

Morning Masterworks 1: Romeo And Juliet
Venue Concert Hall, QPAC
› View Seating plan
Dates 15 Mar 2019

Tragedy never sounded so beautiful

Conductor Diego Matheuz
Soloist Marie-Pierre Langlamet, harp

Ginastera Concerto for Harp and Orchestra
Prokofiev Romeo and Juliet Suite

Ginastera’s Concerto illustrates the harp’s rich versatility as a sound-maker. Musically, the score shifts between tunefulness and dissonance while blistering rhythms alternate with rhapsodic interludes. The first and third movements draw from the Argentinian ‘Malambo’, a visceral gaucho dance noted for foot stamping. Listen for the sound pictures in Prokofiev’s sweeping Romeo and Juliet Suite originally conceived as a ballet. Theatrical, the romantic score is studded with musical imagery – sword fights, Romeo’s skittish puppy and plush melodies portraying the tragic lovers.

Ticket Prices
Hide Details

$74.90 - $88*
*a transaction fee of $7.20 applies per transaction. Selected ticket delivery methods may incur an additional charge.

Price Details
Show Details
Group Discounts
Show Details
School Discounts
Show Details
Show Details